Lifeguard Training

Our Y's Lifeguard Training prepares individuals for a lifeguard position. Must attend all scheduled classes and pass both written and water skills tests. Course includes: Lifeguard, First Aid, CPR, AED and oxygen administration certifications.

WATER SAFETY INSTRUCTOR CLASS:

Get certified as a Water Safety Instructor and learn the American Red Cross swim lesson curriculum. All participants must be 16 or older. Prerequisites include demonstrating the ability to properly perform the following strokes & skills:
• Front Crawl (25 yards) • Back Crawl (25 yards) • Breaststroke (25 yards)
• Elementary backstroke (25 yards) • Sidestroke (25 yards) • Butterfly (15 yards)
• Maintain position on back for 1 minute in deep water (floating or sculling) 
• Tread water for 1 minute

WINTER: (Attend all dates)

Thurs, Feb. 15; 4:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Friday, Feb. 16; 4:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Sat, Feb. 17; 8:30 am - 4:30 pm
Sun, Feb. 18; 8:30 am - 12:30 pm
Thurs, Feb. 22; 4:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Friday, Feb. 23; 4:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Sat, Feb. 24; 8:30 am - 4:30 pm
Sun, Feb. 25; 8:30 am - 12:30 pm

FEE   $300 Member • $350CP (must attend all dates, limited availability)

 

AMERICAN RED CROSS LIFEGUARD TRAINING:

(Ages 15 & up)
Includes all certifications listed below, plus Waterfront certification.

Course includes: American Red Cross Lifeguard, First Aid, CPR, AED, Oxygen and Waterfront certifications.

Prerequisite: 550-yard swim and timed swim that includes retrieval of a 10-pound brick, surface dive, tread water for 2 min., retrieve 10 lb. object and exit pool.

APRIL: (Attend all dates)

Thurs, April 12:   7:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Fri, April 13:   5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Sat, April 14:   8:00 am - 4:00 pm
Sun, April 15:   8:00 am - 4:00 pm
Fri, April 20:   5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Sat, April 21:   8:00 am - 4:00 pm
Sun, April 22:   8:00 am - 2:00 pm

FEE   $250 Y Member • $300 CP

MAY: (Attend all dates)

Thurs, May 10:   7:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Fri, May 11:   5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Sat, May 12:   8:00 am - 4:00 pm
Sun, May 13:   8:00 am - 12:00 pm
Thurs, May 17:   5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Fri, May 18:   5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Sat, May 19:  8:00 am - 4:00 pm
Sun, May 20:   8:00 am - 12:00 pm

FEE   $250 Y Member • $300 CP

JUNE: (Attend all dates)

Thurs, May 31:   7:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Fri, June 1:  5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Sat, June 2:   8:30 am - 4:30 pm
Sun, June 3:   8:30 am - 4:30 pm
Thurs, June 7:   5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Fri, June 8:   5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Sun, June 10:   8:00 am - 2:30 pm

FEE   $250 Y Member • $300 CP

AMERICAN RED CROSS PROFESSIONAL RECERTIFICATIONS:

Classes designed for current American Red Cross lifeguards. Bring your lifeguard book, mask and current certification cards. Please review in advance. All ARC certificates are valid for two years.

SPRING CLASSES DATES: (Attend both dates)

Fri, March 23rd..............5:00 pm - 9:00 pm 
Sat, March 24th...........8:00 am - 4:00 pm

FEE  $125 Y Member • $150CP
(Price includes Waterfront Lifeguarding, CPR Pro, AED, O2 and First Aid certifications.)

SUMMER CLASSES DATES: (Attend both dates)
Fri, June 29th..............5:00 pm - 9:00 pm 
Sat, June 30th...........8:00 am - 4:00 pm

FEE  $125 Y Member • $150CP
(Price includes Waterfront Lifeguarding, CPR Pro, AED, O2 and First Aid certifications.)

AMERICAN RED CROSS LAY RESPONDER ADULT & PEDIATRIC FIRST AID/CPR/AED:

(Ages 12 & up)
Saturday, April 21st........8:00am - 1:30pm
Saturday, June 16th........8:00am - 1:30pm

FEE  $50 Y Member • $60 CP        
Certification valid for 2 years.

Register Online